From Moldova to the “Culinary Never-Never Land of Foodies”

I had the lovely opportunity to jet set back to the states for a little R,R, & FI (Rest, Relaxation, & Food Indulgence) for a couple weeks. This blog is not to discriminate one food culture from another because let’s face it- that’s just not fair. I would be pretty hardcore biased if such a comparison were to go down. Instead, this post is simply to allow for you all to drool and gain a little more appreciation for our personal favorite bites.

First and foremost, I had the pleasure of returning to Charleston, S.C.- the Promised Land for Foodie Lovers. If you want to take a vacation and stuff your face like a fat kid with the most delicious, local grown, innovative, food prepared by award winning chefs- I highly encourage you to take the plunge into the city that makes food ‘Sexy’. Yes, you read it right- Sexy. The food in Charleston is so sexy that it will blow your mind, make you lose all inhabitations, and worst of all the culinary scene there will tease you so much that you’ll succumb to its addictive powers, bow down to the Master Minds of the kitchen and find yourself crawling back for more. Such a tease, isn’t? Not to mention quite embarrassing because this is simply biodegradable matter that people serve and in return as a gesture of appreciation- you’ll simply poop it out. Think about it.

So my first stop in Charleston was this awesome little joint my buddy Joey Ryan &  Joshua Walker opened called Xio Bao Biscut. Joey is the genius behind the bar & everything front of the house while his partner’s domain is the kitchen and all things that taste delish.  With their powers combined, they’ve got this hot little number hitting the spot. A fav on the menu which basically a cabbage pancake that can be topped with egg sunny side up or sweet pork candy. Now, let me tell ya, these little sweet pork candies are tiny nuggets with a taste that adds an extra spunk to the party that’s already going down in your mouth. So, I tell Joey to order for me- after all he knows best. His expert opinion delivered a bowl of fried rice tossed with pork candies and topped with pan seared local grouper. HOLY. FOOD. HEAVEN. Was this real life? I didn’t stop to pinch myself- I just shoved my face full of food & even helped myself to some of my friend’s cabbage pancake. After all, Sandra was ordered by her doctor not to chew due to some kind of jaw pains. I was being a good friend and helping her out while reminding myself that there are starving children in Africa, therefore, leave no food on the plate.XBB

The next new place I visited was Rarebit. Since I’m a food nerd in love with Charleston culinary scene, I still read the City Paper’s ‘Food  + Drink’ section to get to dirt on all the new, failing, and re-invented restaurants. Their drink menu is top notch with the guidance of my old co-worker Brett Sweatman. Moscow Mule, in the gold tin cup. So classic.

Image

Now, aside from loving the cocktail list I was more than impressed by the menu prices and they server breakfast ALL DAY LONG. Yup, chicken and waffles for dinner with a side of grits. Done. However, this time around I hit up the Patty Melt for $7 with a ginormous side of onion rings for $3.50. All together that can barely get me a tossed green salad at some joints in Charleston. Oh, and I met the owner because he now plays on my old soccer team, Dead Rabbits. Cool guy. Down to earth. I’m glad he brought Rarebit to Charleston. Check out the review http://www.charlestoncitypaper.com/charleston/is-the-rarebit-a-stylish-throwback-or-a-brave-step-forward/Content?oid=4556872

In the midst of all this delicious cooked food- I couldn’t leave without getting my raw food fix. Oysters at my old stomping grounds, Amen Street, was a must. The flavor of the local oysters were indeed worth the year’s wait. Also, not to get off topic, but if you’re not familiar with oysters, I would just like to throw out there that not all oysters taste the same. Just like not all red wine taste the same. This may sound a bit biased, but Charleston oysters are definitely some of the most delicious oysters I’ve tasted (aside from Gigamotos). But, that’s like comparing apples to oranges with in the oyster world.Oysters

Then my last meal in Charleston was brunch at the regular Sunday Funday gather location- Rue de Jean. I decided if I’m going home, I’m going big and getting my last raw dish for the year, Beef Tartar. Raw beef. Raw egg. Lots of garlic. Accompanied with toast points. Yes, sir. Brunch was served.

Other highlights of my binge eating and lack of calorie counting included Double Chili Cheeseburger “a-plenty” from the famous Beacon in my hometown, Spartanburg, SC. They have  this concoction, which is  a local fav- Chili Cheese Burger. It’s often described as a “heart attack on a plate”. So, deliciously unhealthy that promises you indigestion promptly 1 hr after consumption. Since this was my last Beacon meal in a long while- I decided to make it a Double Chili Cheeseburger. Feeling of victory followed by defeat. Pepto, please.

Also, I couldn’t leave the states without chowing down on some wings. Wild Wings is such a classy joint that they serve up a combo of wings (bone-in) and boneless…..Hm.., so It’s really wings and nuggets, I guess? Anyway, they’re really cool about catering to my special needs of wings only- no drumsticks. (Ugh, I’m that customer…..and I don’t care when it comes to my wings)

After reflecting on all the indulgences, I’m very proud of myself for exercising my butt off and eating only veggies for the 2.5 weeks prior to my vacation because I’ve gained it all back (plus 10). Every bite was well worth it. I’m kinda proud of the little extra tummy fluff……until I return and look at myself naked in the mirror. Oh and if you’re in Charleston check out Social Wine Bar & Proof for excellent cocktails.

Eat. Drink. and high-five a stranger.

-Lindsey

Leave a comment